APPENDIX C

EVOLUTION OF THE COE UNITS AND THEIR LEADERSHIP

The material in this Appendix is taken from "A Brief History of the Eastern Michigan University College of Education (1959-1999)" by Dean *Emeritus* W. Scott Westerman, Jr., produced in July, 1999.

On June 1, 1959, the Michigan legislature authorized a change from the name Eastern Michigan College to Eastern Michigan University. Anticipating this action, an internal body had approved the division of the academic units into the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Education, and the Graduate School, leaving several departments unaffiliated.

The first meeting of the faculty of the new College of Education was on September 11, 1959, under the leadership of Dean R. Stanley Gex, and it included the faculty from three departments: Education; Health, Recreation, Physical Education and Athletics; and Special Education. In addition, the three laboratory schools—Roosevelt, Lincoln, and Rackham—were included as well. (Laboratory schools started in 1853. A laboratory school arrangement continued through 1973 with the Lincoln school district. The Roosevelt school closed in 1969. The Rackham school opened in 1939 and operated for "nearly four decades.")

Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance. This department, established in 1894, retained its standing as a department in the College of Education through 2004. In 1973-1974, the historic and separate Men's and Women's Divisions in the department were eliminated. In 1975-1976, the department's name was changed to Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance.

Department heads prior to 1991 were Wilber P. Bowen (1894-1900), Clayton T. Teetzel (1900-1903), Wilber P. Bowen (1903-1928), Joseph H. McCulloch (1928-1956), Lloyd W. Olds (1956-1963), Keith C. Bowen (1963-1967), Robert Willoughby (1967-1968), and Patric L. Cavanaugh (1968-1993).

<u>Leadership and Counseling.</u> During the 1960's, five "divisions" were established within the Department of Education, two of which were (a) Educational Leadership and (b) Guidance and Counseling. In the fall of 1970, both of these began to function as departments, with department heads approved by the Board of Regents. In 1982, because of university-wide financial constraints and declining enrollments, the two units were merged into the Department of Leadership and Counseling.

Educational Leadership department heads were George Brower (1970-1973), Ken Grinstead (1973-1978), and Jack Minzey (1978-1982). The Guidance and Counseling department

head was John Pappas (1970-1982). Leadership and Counseling department heads prior to 1991 were Jack Minzey (1982-1989), Donna Schmitt (1989-90), and Martha Tack (1990-95).

Special Education. Special Education was established as a department in 1924. In 1973-1974, occupational therapy was removed from the department and placed in the College of Health and Human Services.

Special Education department heads prior to 1991 were Charles Morris Elliott (1924-1941), Francis Lord (1941-1953), Vivian Harway (1953-1954), Morvin A. Wirtz (1954-1958), Allen Myers (1958-1967), Frank Wawrzaszek (1967-1975), Gary Navarre (1975-1977), Norman Niesen (1977-1987), Kathleen Quinn (1987-1988), Joseph Gonzalez (1988-1989), Susan Vogel (1989-1990), and Kathleen Quinn (1990-1999).

Teacher Education. During the 1960's, the "divisions" of the Department of Education included (among others) Educational Psychology, Social Foundations, and Curriculum and Instruction, along with programs in Library Science and Educational Media that didn't have "division" status. In the fall of 1970, Educational Psychology and Curriculum and Instruction each became a department. In 1980, the Department of Social Foundations and the Department of Education (including Library Science and Educational Media) were folded into the Department of Curriculum and Instruction and given the new name of Department of Teacher Education. In 1981, the Department of Educational Psychology was merged into the Department of Teacher Education.

Department heads prior to 1991 were, for Education, Kenneth Cleeton (1960-1962), Louis Porretta (1962-1966), Bert I. Greene (1966-1967), and Francis M. Daly (1967-1976); for Educational Psychology, Wilbur Williams (1970-1981); for Curriculum and Instruction, W. Scott Westerman (1971-1980); for Teacher Education, Leah Adams (1980-1981), Wilbur Williams (1981-1982), Marvin Pasch (1982-1988), and Jeanne Pietig (1988-1992).

<u>Academic Services.</u> During the 1960's, the pre-student teaching and student teaching activities were included within the Department of Curriculum and Instruction. In 1970, Offices of Pre-Student Teaching (Vernon Jones) and Student Teaching (Kenneth Stanley) were established, reporting directly to the dean. In 1981-1982, the two units were merged and Robbie Johnson became in charge.

Operations. Associate deans prior to 1991 included Francis (Frank) M. Daly (1967-1976), Peggy Steig (1976-1977), Jose R. Llanes (1977-1980), and Mary Green (1980-1991).

National Institute for Consumer Education (NICE). In 1973, the Michigan Consumer Education Center was established, primarily to strengthen consumer education in Michigan by providing materials, programs, and services to K-12 personnel. During the 1980's and 1990's, as its reputation grew, the Center's mission was expanded to include personal finance education and general (non-school) consumer education. As a result, the name was changed to the National Institute for Consumer Education, appropriate also because of its relationship with the ERIC National Clearing House for Consumer Education. Following a 25-year history within the College of Education, all under the leadership of its original director, Ms. Rosella Bannister, NICE was transferred to EMU's Division of Extended Programs at the time of Ms. Bannister's retirement in 1998. NICE reported directly to the dean during those years.

<u>Deans</u>. Deans of the College of Education prior to 1991 were R. Stanley Gex (1957-1959, Dean of Teacher Education; 1959-1967, Dean of the College of Education; Kenneth Cleeton (1963-1965, while Dean Gex was out of the country); S. Allan Myers (1967-1975); Jack D. Minzey (1975-1976); John D. Mulhern (1976-1979); and W. Scott Westerman, Jr. (1980-1991).